The Great Gatsby -impressions and maybe spoilers-

Today’s post will be rather short and sweet. And will also lack pictures.

I believe it was last year or 2 years ago that we watched The Great Gatsby movie. It was some time after its release, but the hype was still there among its fans. After watching it, I decided to read the book as well – since they say the book is better than the movie.

I liked the movie quite a bit. I liked it because of the fashions and the opulence of the yesteryears. I also like how in the past people cared more about their image and reputation.

The book however – the book! Don’t get the wrong idea: I disliked the book! The author needed more lessons on how to write! Thankfully it is an easy read, but if you suffer from OCD, you’ll most likely feel the way I did towards the book.

If you ask me, all the copies of this short novel can be burned on a big fire.

I can understand how many people feel they can relate to the main character especially since the events are narrated in a first person manner, helping the reader “get lost in the book.” BUT… not me.

I got irritated because the time in this book has no laws – or works by different laws, like I mentioned in my previous book review. The author uses some phrases that make me think several weeks have passed, only to later reveal that only some 2 or 3 days passed. WHY? HOW?

When writing, you can’t do this. This method is much more fitting in a movie where the passing of time can be represented in more ways or is not always relevant.

There’s an accident happening towards the end of the story. The way the events around it are described in the book  … makes one think the novel was written or taking place at the end of the 20th century not at its beginning. The movie represented the scenes in a much better way.

RATINGS: no stars for the book [can I give -10 stars though?] and 1.5 stars for the movie, maybe even 2 stars because of Leonardo DiCaprio. He seems to be making all the movies a bit better. If you want to read it, better pick any other book. Even the first Twilight book is better than this one.


This post was a mostly a rant because I simply can’t understand why others praised this novel so much. I don’t get it. If you read it and liked it, please tell me why: I want to see your point of view, I really do.


©2013 – present. The Owner Travels To. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

