Mara Mura – the sweetest looking cafe in Bucharest

On Sunday I was searching for a place to sit at, have a coffee, relax, study more Chinese, and just hope to people watch. However I found more than I was hoping for: a place where relaxation, cuteness, and inspiration go hand in hand.

The place is called Mara Mura, it is hidden on a narrow, one way street. The location of this cafe couldn’t be more fitting: the cafe is rather small, like a treasure that needs to be found. Just look at the picture above showing just a corner of the quiet terrace: I could spend the whole afternoon here doing nothing but relaxing!

The tables had each a small and cute yellow flower decorating them.

I received my menu and instantly I wondered if I made a mistake by sitting there: the menu was much shorter than what I was used to, however it was sweet and to the point. I ordered an espresso [8 lei = US$1.97 or Euro 1.79] and a Rose Lemonade [15 lei = US$3.69 or Euro 3.36]. I didn’t recognize the classic lemonade on the menu, so I ordered a coffee to be able to “better judge” this cafe. Read my post on how order stuff at new places to make sure you’ll like what you get.

The white and pink jar contains sugar. The yellow one was conveniently holding 3 teaspoons. I didn’t ask for sugar, but the presentation of my coffee exceeded my expectations. But look at my coffee cup! In the picture it seems bigger than it actually is! Is this a tea party for dolls? But it’s all good: espresso is served in small cups like this one. But it’s so cute!

And how about the yellow jar in which they brought not 1, not 2, but 3 teaspoons? Isn’t that adorable? It’s still small, but 2 of those teaspoons were small too: to nicely fit into the espresso cup 😉 By the way, I need to buy one too – I need one of those in my life! Don’t you? It’s made of ceramics, just like the cup and its saucer, so if it breaks, it’s gone!

I’ll have one of these, please! What for? To collect dust in them, of course!

The Rose Lemonade came in an unopened glass bottle. But the taste! The taste! It tasted like roses! as is someone made lemonade out of roses! No wonder it was called that! Take a closer look at the bottle – this is not made in Romania, but the owner did us a favor by importing this!

Yea, I drank it all before taking a closer picture of it. ooops!

This is not all! As I was enjoying my coffee, some British chicks came and sat at the next table. Two of them went inside to see what else they had and came out all excited reporting to their other friend “they have all sorts of good stuff!” Naturally, I had to go investigate! 

I didn’t expect to enter Candy Land! But, silly me not to believe the sign on the [other] window!

And the interior! it was amazing! The first thing i saw was these cakes!

OMG! I was salivating! I don’t think my picture taking skills do these desserts any justice! [but I hope this blog entry might] And, Wait! there’s more!

Chocolate! Macarons! Big cake! mini cakes! all the good stuff!

This is not all, because the interior is also nicely decorated. Furthermore, you can buy books too! and possibly other stuff as well, but I didn’t pay much attention to the other exposed merch. But here is just a sample of the art and one of the books! I believe it’s a children’s book, it is rather thin with hard covers. The art is really sweet too!  This book is written in Romanian and costs 35 lei if I remember correctly. That means US$8.62 or Euro7.85, but it’s a cute memento, right?

When I went to pay, I also got a slice of cake to go – I really wanted to enjoy it at home to relax for longer, of course. Want to see what I got?

Apple cake covered in confectioners sugar sold by weight and my piece cost a bit over 8 lei. The manager was beyond nice and gave me 2 choux on the house – I had to explain why was I taking so many pictures of the place. In case you don’t know, many cafes or cake places don’t allow people taking pictures of their shelves. This rule is also reinforced in the malls, stores, and supermarkets. The choux on the left was with coffee, the other one with passion fruit. I liked the one with passion fruit more, perhaps because I could barely feel the coffee in the other one. 

The apple cake! OMG! SO SOFT! and it doesn’t taste like apple pie, but like apple cake! These desserts are sweet but subtle. I generally dislike buying Romanian sweets because I don’t find them sweet.. as if they forget to add the sugar. But these beauties had a reasonable amount of sugar: not overly sweet. I recommend having these with milk-coffee, or with some subtle tasting tea. 

This is the box my cakes were packed in: simple, cute, and elegant at the same time. How nice!

I totally recommend this relaxation oasis to anyone who wants to unwind and enjoy some home-made sweets at the same time. Please go check their website [it’s in Romanian], like them on FaceBook, and follow them on Instagram as well! you won’t regret it!

I forgot to mention there’s a swing in the shop’s window. How cool is that? In any case, now that I know where this treasure is, I’ll go again to buy more sweets 😉 and Rose Lemonade!


©2013-2016 TheOwnerTravelsTo. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

